Journalism of Courage

FEC meeting: Laughter as Buhari asks Amaechi, Shittu to pray

There was general laughter when President Muhammadu Buhari asked the Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi and the Minister of communications, Adebayo Shittu, to pray at the opening of the Federal Executive Council meeting, on Wednesday.
There was even more laughter when one of the minister shouted “no election,” as soon as Buhari announced the name of Amaechi for the Christian prayer.
The President who referred to Adebayo as “minister of communications, Oyo State,” further elicited laughter among the ministers.”
Persecond News recalls that the former Vice President of Nigeria and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar won the Presidential election held across the 33 Local Government areas in Oyo state.
Oyo State also lost the governorship poll to the PDP, as the APC candidate, Adebayo Adelabu, backed by the incumbent Governor Abiola Ajimobi, lost to his PDP’s counterpart, Seyi Makinde, with a margin of 157, 635 votes.
While Makinde polled 515,621 votes, Adelabu came second with 357,982 votes.
Also, during the presidential polls, Atiku of the PDP also defeated Buhari in Rivers State, as he scored 473,971 while Buhari had 150,710 votes.
Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), had stopped the announcement of results of the governorship and state Houses of Assembly elections in Rivers State due to the violence that engulfed the state.
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More