Home Highlight Buhari unveils 2021 Armed Forces remembrance emblem, donates N10m to Appeal Fund
HighlightTop StoryTrending Story

Buhari unveils 2021 Armed Forces remembrance emblem, donates N10m to Appeal Fund



President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday launched the 2021 Armed Forces Remembrance Emblem and donated N10 million to the Appeal Fund.

The brief unveiling took place at the Council Chamber of the State House, Abuja, before the commencement of the the 21st virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The ceremony was witnessed by the Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmed Lawan and Speaker,  House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila and Dean of the Diplomatic Corps.

Also present are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha, National Security Adviser (NSA), retired Maj.-Gen. Babagana Mungonu, the Head of Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan as well as Ministers of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed and that of Defence, retired Maj. -Gen. Bashir Salihi Magashi.

Speaking on the occasion, Buhari urged Nigerians to desist from marking divisive statements that threatens national security.

He noted that the event is to remember  the nation’s fallen heros and veterans as well as and those currently engaged in fighting insurgency and banditry in the northern parts of the country.

He commended the gallant soldiers, who despite the impact of COVID-19  have remained steadfast in keeping the nation one and promised timely releases of resources for operations and welfare of the armed forces.

The President also assured Nigerians that security would continue to be the priority of his administration until peace returns.

The Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Gabriel Olanisakin, Inspector-General of Police, Mr Mohammed Adamu, Director General, Department of State Services, Mr Yusuf Bichi and Director-General, National Intelligence Agency, Mr Ahmed Rufai.

Also at the event, Buhari administered oath of office on Alhaji Isa Kwarra, as the Chairman of National Population Commission and members.

They are: Ibrahim Mohammed, (Bauchi); Ayodeji Ajayi (Ekiti),  Joseph Kwai Shazin, (FCT) and Garba A. Garba (Jigawa), Bala Almu Banya, (Katsina); Alhaji Razaq Gidado, (Kwara); Mrs Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin, (Lagos), and Ali Silas Agara (Nasarawa).

Others are Muhammed Chuso A. Dottijo, (Sokoto); Mai Aliyu Mohammad (Yobe), and Muhammadu  Muktar Rini (Zamfara).

Meanwhile, the 21st virtual Federal Executive Council meeting is uderway with six ministers in attendance.

They are Finance, Zainab Ahmed, FCT, Mohammed Bello, Defence, Maj.-Gen. Bashir Salihi Magashi, Education, Adamu Adamu, Transport, Rotimi Amaechi and Information, Lai Mohammed.

The Head of Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan and other ministers  are participating in the council meeting from their various offices in Abuja.

Leave a comment

Related Articles

HighlightTrending Story

Pres. Tinubu presents 2024 N26.1trn budget to joint session of NASS Nov. 29

President Bola Tinubu will on Wednesday, November 29 present the 2024 budget...


FG to install detection screening equipment at five international airports

The Federal Government is to install customized explosive and narcotic detection screening...

EntertainmentTrending Story

OAU student hospitalized after 58-hour handwashing marathon attempt

A student of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife in Osun State, Subair Enitan,...

Top StoryTrending Story

FG okays 2024 N27.5 trn budget estimates, presents it next week to NASS

Ahead of its presentation next week to the National Assembly, a N27.5...

HighlightOil & GasTrending Story

Pres. Tinubu reappoints Mele Kyari GCEO of NNPC Ltd, constitutes board

All the appointments take effect from December 1, 2023, according to a...

HighlightTrending Story

Tinubu swears in eight permanent secretaries ahead of FEC meeting

President Bola Tinubu on Monday sworn in eight newly appointed permanent secretaries...

EntertainmentTrending Story

My God will vindicate me.– Sheila, Davido’s aide, Israel’s estranged wife

Sheila, the estranged wife of Israel, an aide to music sensation, Davido,...


CJN to judges: Don’t succumb to “mob mentality” in deciding cases

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, has urged judges on...

EntertainmentHighlightTrending Story

“Tears of the Sun” album: Teni promises to make two fans millionaires

Nigerian music star, Teni, is making waves beyond her musical talents as...

AviationHighlightTrending Story

Air safety: Keyamo summons heads of aviation agencies

In a bid to address safety concerns in the nation’s aviation industry,...

HighlightTrending Story

FG to invest N800bn in six ports rehabilitation

In its bid to reduce the high turnaround times of vessels and...

Articles and OpinionTrending Story


Dear Hon minister, First, a disclosure. You may not know me but...

AviationHighlightTrending Story

Inclement weather: Airline diverts Lagos-Abuja flight to Asaba airport

Citing weather conditions, a local airline – United Nigeria Airline flight which...

HighlightWorld News

Attempted military putsch in Sierra Leone: Nationwide curfew imposed

A military armoury in Sierra Leone’s capital Freetown came under attack on...

HighlightTrending Story

SERAP to World Bank: Suspend further loans to 36 states in Nigeria over N87trn debt

With Nigeria’s staggering debt of over N87 trillion, the Socio-Economic Rights and...

HighlightTrending Story

Momentary truce as Pres. Tinubu wades into Akeredolu, Aiyedatiwa’s month-long rift

Following President Bola Tinubu’s intervention, there is momentary truce in the lingering...

BusinessHighlightTrending Story

CBN set for recapitalization of the nation’s banks

The CBN Governor, Dr. Olayemi Cardoso, announced this at the 58th Annual...

HighlightTrending Story

Rivers crisis latest: I can’t stand ingrate, Wike blows hot, strikes Fubara

Nyesom Wike, the immediate past Governor of Rivers State and FCT Minister,...

BusinessTrending Story

Just in: Nigeria’s economy grows by 2.54% in Q3 – NBS

The Nigerian economy has recorded growth by 2.54 percent in the third...