Buhari assures expeditious action on new minimum wage report

by Ajuma Edwina Ameh
3 minutes read
President Muhammadu Buhari has assured that expeditious action will be taken on the report on the New National Minimum Wage.

The Presidential Advisory Committee on New National Minimum Wage, Bismarck Rewane, inaugurated on the 9th January, submitted its report on Monday at the Council Chambers, State House, Abuja.

The meeting came one week after the Senate approved N30,000 minimum wage for Federal and State workers across the country.


Buhari commended the committee, made up of former Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Mrs. Ifueko Omoigui-Okauru, Sulieman Barry, Dr. Ayo Teriba and Prof. Akpan Ekpo, for their patriotism, hardwork and sacrifices in ensuring they deliver the report before receipt of the minimum wage bill from the National Assembly.

He said: “We will review this report expeditiously, and in the process we may need to engage with some members of your committee. I therefore employ you to make your services available whenever we may call on you.”

Others on board from the public sector are: Chairman FIRS, Dr Babatunde Fowler; Director General of Budget Office, Ben Akabueze, who is the secretary of the committee, representative of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF); Chairman of the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission, Richard Egbule: Permanent Secretary, Service Welfare Office of the Head of Service of the Federation, Mrs. Didi Walson-Jack; Permanent Secretary General Service Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Olusegun Adekunle; Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance, Dr. Mahmoud Isa-Dutse; Permanent Secretary Ministry of Budget and National Planning, Olajide Odewale; Permanent Secretary Ministry of Labour Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, and Solicitor General Of the Federation and Permanent Secretary ministry of Justice Mr. Dayo Apata.

Others includes the Special Adviser to the President on Economic Matters, office of the Vice President, Dr. Adeyemi Dipeolu; Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Economic Policy, Dr. Joseph Nnanna; Accountant General of the Federation, Ahmed Idris; Director General Debt Management Officer, Ms. Patience Oniaga; Director General National Institute of Social and Economic Research, Dr. Folarin Gbadebo-Smith; Statistician General, National Bureau of Statistics, Dr. Yemi Kale; Mrs. Aisha Hamad, Mamman Garba and Tunde Lawal.

Also in attendance is the Minister of Finance, Mrs Zainab Ahmed; Minister of Budget and National Planning, Senator Udo Udoma; Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr Godwin Emefiele, amongst others.

The Terms of Reference of the Committee were: “To develop, and advise government on how to successfully bring about a smooth implementation of impending wage increases; Identify new revenue sources, as well as areas of existing expenditure from where some savings could be made in order to fund the wage increases without adversely impacting the nation’s development goals as set out in the Economic Recovery and Growth Plan; Propose a work plan and modalities for the implementation of the salary increases; and Any other suggestions that will assist in the implementation of this, and future wage increases.”

The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, and the Secretary to the government of the Federal, Boss Mustapha, were among those present at the presentation of the report.


You may also like


About Us

PSN online prides itself in its ability to generate and publish quality content that attracts a broad user base. Our editorial team situated across the continent, works day and night to update our sites, with a special focus on breaking news flashes.

@2023 – All Right Reserved.