Journalism of Courage

Deltans reject results of ‘sham’ LG elections

By Ijebu Afoke Dickson

Majority of Deltans who are voters have rejected the Local Government elections   results announced on Saturday describing it as ‘sham elections’.

“The results of the election should be rejected,”  dozens of voters said on Monday.

This is coming as angry voters were said to have stormed the Ughelli North Local Government Area office of the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission  (DESIEC) setting it ablaze in protest of non supply of election materials to the Wards and units for the election.

Election observers in their report noted that materials for the exercise were hoarded in areas considered  to be APC strongholds in the state.

“In Isoko North and South, Ughelli North and South, Udu, Uvwie, Ethiope West and East, Ukwani, Sapele and Udokwa Local Government Areas amongst others, the non-delivery of materials, mainly result sheets hampered the exercise.

” The effort over the weekend to truncate the will of the people of Delta State during the LG elections is unfortunate and saddening, said a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress, APC Olorogun Rume Ima Niboro, while giving his impression of the exercise.

Niboro described the exercise as fraudulent and frustrating.

Independence Day

“It is an ill wind. It would certainly blow no good going forward to 2019. Mark my word. All right thinking Deltans, whether you are a politician or not, have genuine cause for worry”

Niboro further wondered, “how do you conduct elections without result sheets? It is like writing an exam without answer sheets”.

On its part the Delta State All Progressives Congress APC through the State Chairman Prophet Jones Erue has condemned in its entirety the Saturday polls demanding for a total cancellation in all the twenty five local government council disassociating the party from participating in any rerun elections.

The Delta State APC message read “For the record, we want to reiterate that the elections purportedly organized by the Okowa led PDP government in the entire State was a fraud. The Okowa Government rigged his own election by confiscating all sensitive election materials including result sheets and then resorted to writing all the results and handing same to DESIEC to announce”

“In the attempt by the APC to  insist on all sensitive materials including result sheets be provided to allow a free and fair election, the PDP resorted to violence that was witnessed throughout the 25 LGAs of the State. In summary no elections took place anywhere in Delta state”

“We demanded and still demand for a total cancellation of the sham elections in all the twenty-five LGAs in Delta State. To purportedly direct for a re-run in only two LGAs, Ughelli North and Ethiope East, is a subterfuge for the validation and authentication of the sham elections in the other twenty-three LGAs”

The APC further demanded that it has always been prepared for the LGA elections condemning what its described as “grotesque and brazen sabotage” of the will of the people of Delta State in the so-called election that Okowa and his lackeys in DSIEC organised last Saturday, January 6, 2018 in Delta State.

Meanwhile the PDP and the Delta State Government on Monday went ahead to swear in the 23 elected Chairmen elect in the Saturday polls, the Delta State Governor Sen Ifeanyi Okowa who sworn in the 23 Elected Council Chairmen at Asaba was quoted to have commended the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission for conducting the Saturday elections.

The swearing-in ceremony which witnessed the presence of the Deputy Governor of Delta State Barr Kingsley Otuaro, Former Governor of Delta State Dr Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan, People’s Democratic Party Chairman in Delta Barr Kingsley Esiso, Federal and State Lawmakers,  State Executive Council Members,  Board Members , Political Appointees and other dignitaries.

Those Sworn in in the Monday ceremony include Aniocha South: Oseme Chukwugozie, Aniocha South: Anwuzia Isaac,Bomadi:  Williams Angadi,Burutu : Agele Godknows, Ethiope West: Solomon Golley, Ika North East : Victor Ebonka, Ika South : Victor Okoh others are Isoko North: Egbabor Emmanuel,Isoko South: Ikpokpo Itiako, Ndokwa East: Governor Ameche, Ndokwa West: Osakwe Ifeanyichukwu, Okpe: Julius Scott Jessa, Oshimili North: Louis Ndukwe, Oshimili South : Osadebe Uchechukwu Peace, Patani: Perez Omoun, Sapele : Eugene Inoaghan, Udu: Jite Brown, Ugheli South : Kofi Richard, Ukwuani: Dafe Chukwu, Uvwie : Ramson Tega, Warri North: Aduge Okorodudu, Warri South : Michael Tidi, Warri South West: TUOYO Taiye Duke.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More