NPA rated as most outstanding government agency, bags “African Ports Administrative Excellence Award 2023’’

…South African Reserve Bank bags Central Bank Governor of the Year

by Per Second News
3 minutes read

The Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) has been listed as Nigeria’s most outstanding government agency and selected for the “African Ports Administrative Excellence Awards 2023’’ by a UK-based African Leadership Magazine.

The award will be presented at the 8th edition of the Africa Summit 2023, scheduled for July 10th – 11th, 2023 at the House of Lords of the United Kingdom and the Dorchester Hotel London United Kingdom.


The award is in recognition of the Mohammed Bello-Koko-led NPA’s outstanding track record of professional accomplishment and its current contributions to the growth and development of Nigeria’s economic space, the London-based magazine said in a statement.

In a letter addressed to the MD/CEO of the NPA, the magazine said: “You were clearly identified as an administrator that have demonstrated excellence and immense contribution to innovation, creativity, invention and productivity in the Nigerian Maritime sector.”

The winners and runners-up for the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) 2023 shall be presented with the award trophies and formally decorated with their instruments of honour at the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) presentation ceremony, a highlight of the 8th edition of the Africa Summit 2023.

The publisher of the African Leadership Magazine, Ken Giami, during the ALM editorial board’s review, noted that the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) is part of magazine’s focus on promoting Afro-positive content and bringing the best of Africa to global audiences and platforms.

He said the “winners are good examples of progressive and transformational business and policy leadership on the continent; and the accomplishments and successes of these leaders are vivid indicators of the resilience and diverse investment opportunities and successes possible on the continent.’’

Past recipients of the award include ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, AfDB President, Dr. Akinwunmi
Adesina, Africa’s richest man, Aliko Dangote, Mr. Femi Otedola, the Director-General of the World
Health Organization, Tedros Ghebreyesus, and Kenya’s ex-President, Uhuru Kenyatta.

Others are the Commonwealth Secretary General, Patricia Scotland, Dr. Oge Modie, former Special
Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on Strategic Communications.

The 2023 winners for the African Business Leadership Awards are as listed below:
African Business Leader Of the Year
Mohammed Dewji, CEO METL- Winner
Yerim Sow, Founder, Teyliom Group, Senegal- Runner-up

African Female Business Leader Of the Year
Annastacia Kimtai, Managing Director, KCB Bank Kenya Ltd- Winner
Kate Quartey–Papafio, Founder, Reroy Cables Ltd, Ghana- Runner-up

African Regulator Of The Year
Tanzania Bureau of Standards- Winner
Food and Drugs Authority (FDA) Ghana- Runner-Up

Business Friendly Governor Of The Year
Henry Quartey, Regional Minister for Greater Accra, Ghana- Joint-winner
Gentiny Ngobila Mbaka, Governor of Kinshasa, DR Congo- Joint – winner
Alan Richard Winde, Premier Western Cape, South Africa- Runner-up

African Ports Administrative Excellence Award
Mr. Mohammed Bello Koko – Nigerian Ports Authority, NPA

African Finance Minister Of The Year
Renganaden Padayachy, Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development, Mauritius- Winner
Mthuli Ncube, Minister for Finance and Economic Development, Zimbabwe- Runner-up

Africa Minister Of The Year- Economic Recovery, Growth and Development
Rindra Rabarinirinarison, Minister for Economy and Finance, Madagascar- Winner

Trade and Investment Promotion Agency Of The Year
Economic Development Board of Madagascar (EDBM) – Winner
Botswana Investment and Trade Centre (BITC) – Runner-up

Central Bank Governor Of The Year
Lesetja Kganyago, Governor, South African Reserve Bank- Winner
Johnny Ohisa Damian, Governor, Bank of South Sudan- Runner-up

Trade and Investment Minister Of The Year
Victor Fernandes, Minister for Industry and Commerce, Angola- Winner
Naadir Hassan, Minister for Finance, Economic Planning & Trade, Seychelles-Runner-up

Young Business Leader Of The Year
Michel Ussene, Executive Chairman, Mitra Energy, Mozambique- Winner
Ismeal Cisse, Founder/CEO, Sirius Capital, Cote d’Ivoire- Runner-up

Young African Energy Leader Of The Year
Ally Edha Awadh, CEO, Lake Oil Group, Tanzania – Winner

Industry Personality Of The Year
Peter Ndegwa, CEO, Safaricom Kenya- Winner
Sebastien Kadio-Morokro, CEO, Pétro Ivoire- Runner-up

Africa CSR Community Development Impact Award
Standard Chartered Bank Uganda Limited- Joint-winner
Air Peace Nigeria- Joint-winner
Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited- Runner-up

African Company Of The Year
Zambia National Commercial Bank (ZANACO) – Winner
Tanzania Portland Cement Plc- Runner-up

Africa Business Integrity Leader Award
Maroc Telecom, Morocco- Winner
Absa Bank Botswana- Runner-up

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, Chairman, Groupe Nduom, Ghana
Robert Gumede, Executive Chairman, Gijima Group, South Africa


You may also like


About Us

PSN online prides itself in its ability to generate and publish quality content that attracts a broad user base. Our editorial team situated across the continent, works day and night to update our sites, with a special focus on breaking news flashes.

@2023 – All Right Reserved.