in , , ,

Breaking: At last, Buhari boots out Service Chiefs, names replacements



After several calls for their sack, the nation’s Service Chiefs have “thrown in the towel.

According to a Presidency statement, the Service Chiefs tendered their immediate resignation or retirement notice on Tuesday.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, said President Muhammadu Buhari had accepted their resignation or retirement with immediate effect.

“Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours,” the statement said.

The President named the new Service Chiefs as Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A. Z. Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

Buhari congratulated the new Service Chiefs and urged them to be “loyal and dedicated” in the discharge of their duties.



What do you think?

Written by Per Second News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.



Sunday lgboho to Sen. Ojudu: Your article is arrant falsehood, nonsense

NNPC GMD/CEO, Kyari Bags New Telegraph’s Transparency Award