Gov. ikpeazu.
HighlightTop StoryTrending Story

Just In: Abia State Executive Council Dissolved, Suspended Chief of Staff Recalled



The 31-member Abia State Executive Council, the highest governmental body in the Southeast state, has been dissolved.

No reason was given for the disbandment of the council.

According to Government House sources in Umuahia, the capital, Governor Okezie Ikpeazu, dissolved the Council on Saturday and directed the commissioners to hand over government property in their custody immediately.

A statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Barrister Chris Ezem, has confirmed the dissolution of the cabinet inaugurated by the governor on October 17, 2019 after his second term win.

Ezem also announced the recall of the governor’s Chief of Staff, Dr A.C.B Agbazuere, who was suspended in November 2020 for allegedly spraying money on a pastor, Chukwuemeka Ohanaemere, a.k.a  Odumeje as captured in a video which went viral on the social media.

An Abia High Court had declared the video doctored.

Members of the dissolved Executive Council :

Office Incumbent
Governor Okezie Ikpeazu
Deputy Governor Ude Oko Chukwu
Secretary to the State Government Barr. Chris Ezem
Head of Service Sir Onyii Wamah
Chief of Staff Dr. A.C.B Agbazuere
Deputy Chief of Staff (Governor’s Office) Chief Ukpai Agwu Ukpai
Deputy Chief of Staff (Deputy Governor’s Office) Sir Don Ubani
Commissioner for Finance Dr. Aham Uko
Commissioner for Budget and Planning Hon. Kalu I. Uduma(DK)
Commissioner for Corporatives & Rural Development Prince Ezekwesiri Ananaba
Commissioner for Education Dr. K.C.K Nwangwa
Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice Barr. Uche Ihediwa
Commissioner for Health Dr Joe Osuji
Commissioner for Housing Chief Ugbaja Odionyemfe
Commissioner for Industry Chief mrs Uwaoma Olenwengwa
Commissioner for Information John Okiyi Kalu
Commissioner for Joint projects Chief Jon Okoro
Commissioner for special duties Chief Chimaobi Ebisike
Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Sir G. C Onyendilefu
Commissioner for Petroleum Chief Ikechukwu Onuoha
Commissioner for Public Utilities Engr Emma Nwabuko
Commissioner for SMEs Development Onyema Wachuku
Commissioner for Science and Technology Hon. chijioke Madumere
Commissioner for Youth and sports development Chief Emeka Ikwuagwu
Commissioner for Culture and Tourism Lady Loveth Uwaoma
Commissioner for Trade and Investment Dr Cosmos Ndukwe
Commissioner for Agriculture Prof Ikechi Mgbeoji
Commissioner for Transport
Commissioner for Women Affairs Mrs Ukachi Amala
Commissioner for Works Barr Chiedozie Bob Ogu
Commissioner for Homeland Security Prince Dan Okoli


Leave a comment

Related Articles

The Kano State Government has announced plans to demolish and renovate the...

Nigeria’s debt stock surges by 24.99 percent to N121.67trn in March 2024 – DMO

The Debt Management Office (DMO) has disclosed that Nigeria’s total public debt...

Breaking: Muhammadu Sanusi II remains the Emir, Kano Govt. insists

In a swift reaction to the Federal High Court ruling on Thursday,...

Breaking: Court sacks reinstated Kano Emir Sanusi

A Federal High Court in Kano, presided over by Justice A. M....

Protest erupts in Kaduna over El-Rufai’s N423bn indictment

Demonstrators on Thursday converged on the Sir Kashim Ibrahim House in Kaduna,...

Appeal Court reserves ruling on Rivers State House of Assembly leadership tussle

The Court of Appeal in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, has reserved judgment...

Rivers electoral commission begins preparations for LG elections

The Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission (RSIEC) has initiated the process for...

Presidential aides blast Aisha Yesufu over alleged Ramaphosa’s snubbing of Tinubu in S/Africa

Aisha Yesufu’s recent tweet criticizing President Bola Tinubu for being snubbed in...

NNPC Ltd.-TotalEnergies JV announces US$550m FID on Ubeta field development project

In a major step towards boosting Nigeria’s oil and gas production, the...

FG partners US-based space agency to send first Nigerian to space

The Federal Government has collaborated with a US-based Space Exploration and Research...

Mental Health Care Awareness in Nigeria

by Shine Alagba Nigerians face mental stress due to economic challenges like...

Abuja Court rejects Abba Kyari’s latest bail application

Abba Kyari, the detained Deputy Commissioner of Police, renewed his request for...

IPOB leader, Kanu, seeks out-of-court settlement with FG

Nnamdi Kanu, the leader of the banned Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB),...

FG plans ambitious $100bln expansion fund to enhance Nigeria’s cultural heritage

The Minister of Arts, Culture, and Creative Economy, Mrs. Hannatu Musa-Musawa, has...

Saraki, AbdulRazaq spat over Ilorin Durbar 

Former Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, said he deliberately avoided the Ilorin...

South Africa’s Ramaphosa sworn in for second term as president

“Ramaphosa is expected to announce his cabinet in the coming days as...

Breaking: After Rivers lawmakers’ screening, Gov. Fubara inaugurates 23 LGAs caretaker chairmen

Rivers Gov. Siminalayi Fubara inaugurated the caretaker chairpersons for the state’s 23...

Breaking: Rivers Gov. Fubara appoints caretaker chairmen for 23 LGAs

The nomination came amid a renewed political crisis in the state, with...

Emirate crisis: Gumel promises neutrality, commitment to peace, stability in Kano State

Kano State Police Commissioner Ussain Gumel has refuted claims that his officers...

Updated: Rescued abducted Fouani brothers reunited with families, say Lagos Police

The Lagos State Police Command’s spokesperson, SP Benjamin Hundeyin, has confirmed that...