Journalism of Courage

Nigeria cancels all issued, pre-approved visas


  • Says no flight into Nigeria from March 21st
  • Buhari will address nation when appropriate


The Nigerian Government has cancelled already issued visas to travelers from the 13 effected countries of coronavirus.

This is as a result of the trend of the novel coronavirus disease – COVID-19 and the subsequent declaration as pandemic by the World Health Organisation.

The Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola said effective Saturday, March 21st, no flights from these countries will be allowed entry into Nigeria.

The 13 countries are: China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland.

These are all countries with over 1,000 case domestically.

“What this really means is that we are suspending issuance of visas and we are canceling all visas already issued to citizens or travelers from these nations.

“It will take effect from saturday March 21st and will will last for four weeks for the time being, while development will dictate what will happen thereafter.”

The Interior Minister said the government was considering other measures and would be made public at the appropriate time.


Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.