Top StoryTrending Story

Buhari swears in, assigns portfolios to new ministers

  • Amaechi, Lai, Bello, Ngige retain positions
President Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, announced the portfolios of 43 new ministers, shortly after swearing them in at the State House, Abuja.
The Senate had earlier screened and cleared the 43 nominees sent by President Muhammadu Buhari on July 30, 2019.
However, some Ministers; Lai Mohammed, Mohammed Bello, Rotimi Amaechi and Chris Ngige, still maintained their former positions.
Below is a full list of the new ministers and their assigned portfolios:
1. Dr. Uchechukwu Ogah (Abia) – Mines and Steel Development, State
2. Muhammed Musa Bello (Adamawa) – FCT
3. Sen. Godswill Obot Akpabio (Akwa Ibom) – Niger Delta
4. Chris Ngige (Anambra) – Labour & Employment
5. Sharon Ikeazor (Anambra) – Environment, State
6. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) – Education
7. Amb Maryam Katagum (Bauchi) – Industry, Trade and Investment, State
8. Timipre Silva (Bayelsa) -Petroleum, State
9. Sen. George Akume (Benue) – Special Duties
10. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno) – Agriculture, State
11. Godwin Jedi-Agba (Cross River) – Power, State
12. Festus Keyamo (Delta) – Niger Delta, State
13. Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi) – Science and Technology
14. Dr. Osagie Ehanire (Edo) – Health
15. Clement Ikanade Agba (Edo) – Budget and National Planning, State
16. Otunba Adeniyi Adebayo (Ekiti) – Industry, Trade and Investment
17. Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu) – Foreign Affairs
18. Dr. Ali Isa Pantami (Gombe) – Communication
19. Emeka Nwajuba (Imo) – Education, State
20. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa) – Water Resources
21. Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed (Kaduna) – Finance, Budget and National Planning
22. Dr. Mohammad Mahmoud (Kaduna) – Environment
23. Mohammed Sabo Nanono (Kano) – Agriculture
24. Maj. Gen. Bashir Magashi (rtd) (Kano) – Defence
25. Hadi Sirika (Katsina) – Aviation
26. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi) – HAGF and Minister of Justice
27. Ramatu Tijani Aliyu (Kogi) – FCT, State
28. Lai Mohammed (Kwara) – Information and Culture
29. Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara) – Transportation, State
30. Babatunde Raji Fashola (Lagos) – Works and Housing
31. Adeleke Mamora (Lagos) Health, State
32. Mohammed A. Abdullahi (Nasarawa) – Science & Tech, State
33. Amb. Zubairu Dada (Niger) – Foreign Affairs, State
34. Olamilekan Adegbite (Ogun) – Mines & Steel Devpt
35. Sen. Omotayo Alasuadura (Ondo) – Labour, State
36. Rauf Aregbesola (Osun) – Interior
37. Sunday Dare (Oyo) – Youth and Sports
38. Dame Pauline Tallen (Plateau) – Women Affairs
39. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers) – Transportation
40.  Mohammed Maigari Dangyadi (Sokoto) – Police Affairs
41.Engr. Sale Mamman (Taraba) – Power
42. Abubakar D. Aliyu (Yobe) – Works and Housing, State
43.  Sadiya Umar Faruk (Zamfara) – Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development

Leave a comment

Related Articles

Food security: 1.3m Nigerians to benefit from Ukraine’s grain donation, says WFP

About 1.3 million Nigerians impacted by the rising cost of food in...

Forex crisis: FG slams $10bln fine on Binance

The Federal Government has fined a crypto trading platform, Binance, $10 billion...

Corruption will go away from Nigeria, says Pres. Tinubu as he inaugurates Lagos rail project

President Bola Tinubu inaugurated the Red Line rail project of the Lagos...

NNPC Ltd, OPEC pledge collaboration to attract investments, grow production

The Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL) and the Organization of the...

Just in: Senate grants Tinubu’s request to sack FCCP boss

The Senate has approved President Bola Tinubu’s request to sack the Federal...

Why we suspended our nationwide protest – NLC

The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has suspended its two-day national protest as...

CBN to sell dollar at N1,301 to authorized BDC

In its bid to increase liquidity, strengthen the naira, and curb distortion...

Oransaye report: List of FG’s agencies, depts, corporations to be scrapped, merged

Following the adoption of the Steve Oronsaye’s report for immediate full implementation...

Breaking: Merger, scrapping of many govt agencies underway as Tinubu orders full implementation of Oronsanye Report⁣

12 years after the Steve Oronsaye panel submitted its report on restructuring...

CJN swears in 11 new Supreme Court justices

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, swore in the newly...

Tinubu inaugurates Economic Advisory Committee with Elumelu, Dangote as members

A tripartite Economic Advisory Committee, consisting of the Federal Government, subnationals, and...

Breaking: Fire destroys FCT Minister’s home

A morning fire on Sunday completely destroyed the private residence of the...

Shun NLC protests, rallies, Afenifere urges Nigerians particularly Yoruba, says will escalate tension

The pan-Yoruba socio-political organisation — Afenifere — has urged Nigerians particularly Yoruba...

Breaking: Tinubu announces suspension of sanctions on Guinea, Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso

President Bola Tinubu has demanded that the Economic Community of West African...

ECOWAS Chair, Pres. Tinubu, presides over regional body’s summit in Abuja

President Bola Tinubu on Saturday presided over Extraordinary Summit of heads of...

Blackout: COAS laments decomposing corpses in Army mortuaries

The Chief of Army Staff (COAS), Lt.-Gen. Taoreed Abiodun Lagbaja, has frowned...

Harsh economy: NIN required as Customs begins distribution of seized food items to poor Nigerians

In a bid to alleviate the current hardship in the country, the...

APC’s Sen. Okpebholo emerges candidate for Edo governorship poll

Sen. Monday Okpebholo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared...

$800m rehabilitation funds for Nigerian ports almost ready – FG

The Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Mr. Gboyega Oyetola, has said...

Emefiele slams N25bln suit on Akpabio for alleged defamation 

The ex-governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele, has...