Journalism of Courage

Lagos lawmakers drop 3 commissioner-nominees, confirm 35

For the first time in recent years, the Lagos State House of Assembly on Monday dropped three out of the 38 nominees sent by the governor for appointment as commissioners and special advisers in his cabinet.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu had sent initial 25 to the lawmakers early July and additional 13 last week following protests from influential party chieftain and members at the grassroots, insisting that Lagosians and those who worked for the party’s success in the February polls were neglected.

The three nominees who were denied confirmation are Ms Adekemi Ajayi-Bembe, Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi and Mr Obafemi George.

PerSecondNews learnt that the nominees were dropped based on protest from their constituencies.

The nominees were confirmed after the final screening and the adoption of the recommendation of the ad-hoc committee on screening by the Committee of the whole House.

The governor is at liberty to represent the three nominees, the Speaker, Mr Mudasiru Obasa, said.

He said the House would not hesitate to pass a vote-of-no- confidence in any of the appointees if found wanting on assumption of office.

The committee’s report was read by the Chairman of the ad-hoc committee and Chief Whip, Mr Rotimi Abiru, and recommended that the nominees be confirmed by the House in accordance with Section 192 (2) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

Those who scaled the screening are Mr Tunji Bello, the immediate past Secretary to the State Government under Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode, Mr Joe Igbokwe, Mrs Yetunde Arobieke Mr Oladele Ajayi, Mr Oluwatoyin Fayinka, Mr Kabiru Abdullahi, Mr Bonu Solomon Saanu, Mrs Lola Akande, Prince Anofi Elegushi, Mrs Solape Hammond, Mr Moruf Akinderu-Fatai, and Mrs Shulamite Adebolu.

Others include Mr Gbenga Omotoso, Editor of the Nation newspapers, Mr Tokunbo Wahab, Mr Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo, Mrs Folashade Adefisayo, Dr Idris Salako, MrsToke Benson-Awoyinka and Mrs Bolaji Dada.

Also on the list are Professor Akin Abayomi, Mr Lere Odusote, Dr. Frederick Oladeinde, Mr. Gbolahan Lawal, Dr. Wale Ahmed, Mr. Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN), Mr. Hakeem Fahm and Mrs. Ajibola Ponle.

Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Segun Dawodu, Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Mr. Sam Egube, Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya, Princess Aderemi Adebowale, Mr. Tunbosun Alake and Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo were also confirmed by the lawmakers.

Their inauguration is scheduled for Tuesday, August 20.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.