Journalism of Courage

For the third time, APC fixes March 26 for its national convention

... indefinite postponement cancelled, opts for zonal congresses March 12

 

 

Few hours after it announced indefinite postponement of its national convention, the Caretaker and Extra-ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed March 26 for the Convention in Abuja.

 

In what looked like backtracking, Sen. John Akpankudohede, the National Secretary of the committee, stormed out of  the committee’s closed-door meeting in Abuja on Monday and declared that the activities for the National Convention would now commence on February 24.

 

Persecondnews recalls that APC had scheduled the convention for February 26.

 

He told newsmen: “After deliberation and agreement with the CECPC, we have agreed and approved that the activities of the party’s National Convention will commence on February 24 and terminate on March 26 at Eagle Square with the National Convention.

 

“In between the convention, we have agreed to have zonal congresses.”

 

Akpankudohede, who said INEC had been informed of the zonal congresses and the new date, explained that the congresses would hold in line with the timetable and schedule of events released by the party.

 

“On Thursday, February 24, publication of zonal committees. On Saturday, February 26, meeting of zonal stakeholders.

 

“From Monday, Feb. 28 to Thursday, March 3, sales of forms for zonal positions. On Saturday, March 5, screening of zonal aspirants.

 

“On Sunday, March 6, Screening Appeal. On Tuesday, March 8, the adoption of screening report.

 

“On Saturday, March 12, Zonal congresses. Monday, March 14, Zonal congresses appeal. Wednesday, March 16, adoption of appeal report,” Persecondnews quotes Akpankudohede as saying.

 

Akpankudohede also said: “Monday, Feb. 28, Publication of National Convention Sub-Committees. From Wednesday, March 9 to Friday, March 11, Sales of Forms.

 

“From Tuesday, March 15 to Thursday, March 17, screening of aspirants, Saturday, March 19, Screening Appeal. Monday, March 21, adoption of Appeal Report.

 

“From Thursday, March 24 to Friday, March 25, accreditation. Saturday, March 26, Convention.

 

“Tuesday, March 29 Convention Appeal. Wednesday, March 30, Adoption of Appeal Report. “Thursday, March 31, Inauguration.”

 

He said the scheduled activities were pursuant to Article 12 (6) of the party’s Constitution.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.