Journalism of Courage

Nigeria’s ex-defense, petroleum, agriculture, among 13 ministers not returning to office

President Muhammadu Buhari Tuesday asked the Nigerian Senate to confirm a list of 43 individuals to serve his cabinet for the 2019-2023 tenure as ministers.  Prominent among those not returning for the second term in office is the man who once was in charge of Nigeria’s biggest oil corporation, the NNPC.
Former Petroleum Minister of State, Emmanuel Kachikwu, who was once a Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation wasn’t included in the list of 43 names read by the Senate President Ahmed Lawan.

As the Senate begins the process of confirming the nominees on July 24th, Solomon Dalung’s hope of returning to office as the Minister of Youths and Sport, or any other office, is dashed, despite earlier boasts that he would be returning once more as a Nigerian minister.

Missing on the list as well is the former Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole. Otheers include: Audu Ogbeh, former Minister of Agriculture; Aisha Abubakar, former Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment; Usani Uguru Usani, former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Adebayo Shittu, former Minister of Communications; Okechukwu Enelamah, former Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment; Mansur Dan Ali, former Minister of Defence; Ogbonnaya Onu, former Minister of Science and Technology; Abdulrahman Dambazzau, former Minister of Interior; Heineken Lokpobori, former Minister of Agriculture; Stephen Ocheni, former Minister of State for Labour and Employment; and Usman Jubril, former Minister of State, Environment.


Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More