Journalism of Courage

9 Things you need to know about the Commonwealth

  1. The Queen of England is the head of the Commonwealth
  2. United Arab Emirates, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain and Qatar are all former British colony but they all refused to join the Commonwealth.
  3. 16 member countries out of the 53 recognizes the Queen of England as their Monarch
  4. Lesotho, Swaziland and Tonga are member countries ruled by their own Monarchs
  5. The commonwealth covers 20 per cent of the world’s land area and a population of 2,419 billion people, making up a third of the world’s population. The total gross domestic product of around $10.45 trillion representing 14 per cent of the world’s gross product.
  6. The Republic of Ireland is the closest county to Britain and is not a member of the Commonwealth.
  7. Gambia left the Commonwealth in 2013 but returned in 2018.
  8. The Commonwealth of Independent States is a political and economic confederation of former Soviet republics, analogous to the Commonwealth of Nations.
  9. The Commonwealth of Nations is an intergovernmental organization of 53-member states, composed mostly of former colonies, protectorates, mandates and dominions of the British empire, plus a couple of countries never under the British empire, but now linked together as ‘free and equal’ partners by shared value.


Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More